Mike Ballz-The World According To Ballz (Review)

Today I decided to do something different. I’ve been doing the blog for a while and I’ve decided that i’m going to try and do more features and reviews. Stuff like that that I can sink my teeth into and do some real writing. I like the shorter posts I do but I really want to start doing some longer stuff just to try it out and see what hapens.

If you guys like it then share it or follow me on Twitter and let me know what you think. And if you hate it then share it and follow me on Twitter and let me know where I went wrong.

So the other day I got an e-mail linking me to a new mixtape from a guy called Mike Ballz. Mike is a rapper, producer from Massachusetts and according to his Facebook profile he began his rap career as a joke in High School but decided to keep doing it when he found out that he actually liked. Now if i’m going to be completely honest, I wasn’t expecting much. When I saw “The  World According To Ballz” by Mike Ballz, I thought it was gonna be another frat rap kid with an arsenal full of ball jokes. (No offence to Mike by the way, just my first impression from the name.) Hit the jump for the rest of the review…

Anyway when I gave the tape a listen I knew I couldn’t have been more wrong. In the first 30 seconds of the first track you can tell that Mike isn’t the type of guy who raps about getting wasted all day everyday and his tracks have a deeper meaning than just being catchy to listen to. The tracks talk about his path in life, his dreams, and the music industry.

On the whole the tape is really well done and the beats and tempo of the tape match Mike’s flow perfectly. The tracks are introspective but they don’t turn you away. Exactly the opposite, you come away from the tape feeling like you actually know Mike a little better.

All the tracks on the tape are produced by Mike,  Droobee, Mista Marcel, and The Arkitekt. The production is perfect for the lyrics Mike spits and the beats range from slow and chilled to  fast paced and full of energy. All the different aspects of the tape come together to make one dope product. The entire thing fits together and the tracks flow into one another leaving you feeling like you’re listening to a long mashup instead of a full mixtape.

In short, while Mike might not be your stereotypical image of a rapper, he has serious skills and his lyrics are deep and meaningful. “The World According To Ballz” is definitely a must download and as for Mike…well I hope he does another few track or a mixtape real soon.

Support the music on Twitter by following him and like the Facebook page here.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

