Robin Thicke ~ Blurred Lines/Rant about the state of the music industry.

I originally set out to write this post on the video to Robin Thicke’s song, Blurred Lines. It’s a catchy song and I figured the video would be pretty good too. Then I went on YouTube and saw the video. That’s when I decided that I cannot, in good conscience do a serious post on the song or the video. The song itself is pretty decent, it’s not ground breaking or anything like that but it’s a catchy song. The video on the other hand completely epitomises what I imagine the stereotypical music video to be. Before I go any further let me just say this, above is the video I first saw for the song. Typical bullshit video with money, women and jewellery.

I then found out that there is another video for that song. A completely official and 100% done by the exact same people video. The only difference is that in the second “unrated” video the women are naked. Someone looked at that video and decided that, “Semi naked women are cool. But you know what’s really cool? Naked chicks!” Seriously, what kind of thought process goes into making an almost exact replica with just one minor difference? The video won’t be seen by many people because it’s not going to be shown on tv or anything like that. It’s a complete and utter waste of money.

If you want to leave then this is your chance, if you want to keep going and read my rant on the state of the music industry then hit the jump. 

Off the video for just a second. The song is a decent song, I’ve said this already. It’s got the same old message of wealth and women and all that bullshit that people want to get into the music industry for but what really made me write the post was the fact that this is the image that they want to push to the masses. I’m in love with music and I always will be but when stuff like this happens and people just eat it up it irritates me to no end! The music industry used to be about people who loved music and making it, sharing their love with other people. Yes there was a lot of crap back then too but it had a message, there was a purpose to it. The music wasn’t done for sales or concert tickets or tweets or anything else, it was purely done just because they wanted to share the love.

Flash back to 2013 and, in my opinion, the music industry is in the worst place it has been in living memory. Artists like Nicki Minaj, Rihanna, Beyonce, Lil Wayne…you get the picture. Artists who has massive hits with songs that meant something. Nicki Minaj had tracks like Right Thru Me, Moment For Life, Your Love and now she puts out songs like Beez In The Trap, Stupid Hoe, Pound The AlarmThe same goes for Beyonce, Weezy, Rihanna and hundreds of others.

There was a time when Lil Wayne was legitimately one of the best rappers around, now he can’t make a song unless he ends every sentence with the word “nigga”. Beyonce puts out songs like If I Were A Boy and then undid everything she did in that song with the track Run The WorldI know that I’m coming very close to stuff that MK from MK Loves has already talked about but it baffles me that this is still happening.

Music is a universal language, just look at PSY! People know entire songs that don’t contain one word of English, they can do the dance to the Macarena, know every line from the Numa Numa song. It’s amazing how much power one song can have. I’ve known people who have been in very bad places in their lives and music has turned it all around for them. Music is the one constant in this ever-changing world we live in. Music is universal and anyone can do it, there’s no age limit and you don’t need to play an instrument or have any training to do it.

That’s not where the problem is, the problem with the music industry doesn’t lie with the artist for singing a bad song or the engineer for using auto tune. It’s not the song writer, the producer, the agent or any of a number of other people. The reason the music industry has been poisoned is due to the fact that people who don’t care about the music are in charge of it. When the person in charge of picking who gets signed and who doesn’t, what songs get released and what doesn’t then nobody wins.

We need to take back the music, we need to put the power back in the hands of the people who care about the music. But most of all we need to get rid of the image that music has given to the masses. In short, we need a musical renaissance and we need it soon.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

7 thoughts on “Robin Thicke ~ Blurred Lines/Rant about the state of the music industry.

  1. hello says:

    You criticize the video for being terrible and cheap, but the music and lyrics are also terrible and cheap…. and Psy? that’s a joke. did you not know that? You can’t reference it as a song that shows how music is universal, as if it has some merit. The song is a joke about music, it’s not trying to actually be a real song. The fact that anyone can miss the fact that it’s a troll song, and actually like it as something they would listen to, shows how unrefined musical taste is these days. It’s popular because people shared it to show how stupid it was, and that was why it was funny. Psy knows this, thats why people watched the video, that’s the whole point. It’s not music, it’s comedy.

    “PSY started this with nothing else but make people laugh with his video”

    A line in this Thicke song is, ‘What rhymes with hug me?’. HA! Robin thicke sucks and his falsetto makes him sound like a funny woman. The music sounds like it was made for a tv show for 2 year old children…

    On how you said the artist is not to blame, Robin thicke actually believes his song is good. That’s also part of the problem.

    Here’s an idea- you think beyonce sucks, but ppl who listen to beyonce don’t realize it. Is it possible the music you listen to also sucks, but you don’t realize either?

    How old are you? You must be a kid, from what I can tell from your writing. Your eye for criticism is a good thing, but hopefully the criticism will be more thought out as you get older.

    • sidday says:

      The reference to Psy and Gangnam style wasn’t supposed to be about good music. I used the song as an example to show that music can reach people worldwide, I will admit that I do like the song but no it wouldn’t be something I listen to very often. Gangnam style is the kind of song you put on when you’re just out to have a good time. Also, I don’t believe that any artist sucks unless they continuously put out meaningless music where the only reason it’s being released is for monetary gain. Beyonce is an amazing artist it just happens that I feel like her last few songs had no meaning other that to further her bank account.
      When I set out to write the post on the video I will admit that I got caught up and went on a rant without any particular end to it and I may have let it cloud my judgement in writing the piece, it could be a lot better. As for the music I listen to sucking, I never claimed that I am the be all and end all of what is and isn’t good music. Music is a personal thing and while I feel like the music I listen to is good because it has a positive message, meaning and sounds good doesn’t mean it appeals to everyone. I can guarantee that there are people out there that think that artists like Thicke, Lil Wayne, 2Chainz and such are the very best in the industry.
      As for how old I am, I wouldn’t say I’m a kid but a lot of people might. I’m 21, for the record. Thanks for taking the time to read the post and commenting on it, it’s much appreciated.

  2. thekingdave says:

    Uh, well from your incessant ramble I have deduced that all music was incorporated in 2008. Just stop. You will find much more success in life claiming false knowledge in other areas.

  3. Kris Manning says:

    Interesting article, but there is more to the music industry than R&B…

    • sidday says:

      I do realise that but my main musical interest is in Hip Hop and RnB so that’s what I focus on. I do try and branch out occasionally but the people who like what I do have an interest in Hip Hop too

  4. jock says:

    Thank u for this rant. Robin Thicke sucks.
    It pisses me off everytime I think of his music. It disgusts me that he has been accepted as an artist. Black america has done nothing to destroy this act. I’m not even black.

Leave a Reply

